Water of Leith runs through the heart of Stockbridge and
onto the Port of Leith where it widens into the old harbour
and port at Shore Street, Leith supporting a vibrant dock
and boat building industry, before joining the sea via The
Firth of Forth.
It is 24 miles (35km) long and it's
source is the Colzium Springs at Millstone Rig in the Pentland
Hills. It was once the source of power to over 70 mills
harnessing the power of the water to produce paper, fabric
The river is spanned by the dramatic arches of The Dean
Bridge built in 1832 designed by famous civil engineer
Thomas Telford which now carries traffic to Queensferry.
The Water of Leith Conservation Trust
opened in 1988 and works to conserve and enhance the river,
its heritage and wildlife. There is a walkway stretching
12.25 miles (19.6 km) along the banks of the river where
walkers and cyclists can enjoy the natural beauty.
is full of brown trout and anglers can obtain a free licence
from Edinburgh City Council. A haven for wildlife such as
rabbits, squirrels and badger and even deer. As well as birds
such as heron, kingfisher, dippers and goosander.