between Glenogle Road and of The Water of Leith,
the Stockbridge colonies were built between 1861
and 1911 by the Edinburgh Co-oprative Building Company.
Their purpose was to provide owner occupied low-cost
housing for, and organized by working people. Over
a third of the shareholders were stonemasons and other
At the end of each of the eleven
parallell terraces are the original artisan crests
portraying the different trades of the workmen.
The cottage style, two storey houses
each have a front garden (Victorian clothes poles
are an original feature) This means that facing houses
have different street names, for example the ground
floor homes on Miller Place share the same street
with the upper terraces accessed by Reid Terrace.
The streets were named after the
founders of the Company including the geologist and
writer Hugh Miller.
HUGH MILLER PLACE
The colonies are ofter considered
to be a small village in their own right. With their
social history and unique features of architecural
interest and their close location to The Royal Botanic
Gardens and Inverleith Park, the colonies are now
considered to be prime real estate.